Planning & Zoning Commission

-A A +A

Hours of Operation

Planning and Zoning Commission Meets the Second and Fourth Wednesday** of the month at 7:00 PM in the New Hartford Town Hall, 530 Main Street.

**The Commission does not have any regular meeting scheduled for the month of August and only meets on the second Wednesday of the month in November and December.

For information or questions regarding Planning and Zoning please contact:



Hours: Monday thru Thursday 8 am - 4 pm

Friday 8 am - 1 pm


PO Box 316
New Hartford, CT 06057
United States

The Town of New Hartford has a combined Planning and Zoning Commission.   This Commission has 5 elected regular members and 3 elected alternate members, each of which serves a 5 year term.

While  working in their planning capacity the Commission reviews all subdivisions of land, creates and updates the Plan of Conservation and Development and reviews request from the Board of Selectmen for substantial improvement to Town property or the lease, purchase or sale of Town property, known as an 8-24 request.

While working in their zoning capacity the Commission creates and places zones then delineates what uses are allowed in each zone.  The list of uses and criteria are in the Zoning Regulations.   The Commission, or its agent, review each application for compliance with the Zoning Regulations.  The Zoning Regulations also contain Flood Plain Regulations, Farmington River Overlay District and Public Drinking Water Watershed Overlay District.

This Commission also serves as the Aquifer Protection Agency.


Commission Members - Current Terms of Office

Name Title
Theodore Stoutenberg (R) Chairman
David Krimmel (R) Commission Member
Daniel E. LaPlante (R) Commission Member
VACANCY * Commission Member
James E. Steadman (D) Commission Member
Thomas J. McLoughlin (D) Commission Member, Alternate
Martin J. Post (D) Commission Member, Alternate
Peter A. Ventre (R) Commission Member, Alternate

Staff Contacts

Name Title Phone
Ruth Mulcahy (860) 379-7677
Syndicate content